Canny admins have full control over a Post, so you can manage and update as needed. This guide will walk you through:
- Editing a Post
- Deleting a Post
- Merging a Post
- Unmerging a Post
- Moving a Post to Another Canny Board
- Reporting a Post as spam
Editing a Post
Let's say you get a vague Post created like the one below:
Then, you clarify with the Customer what it is they're actually looking for:
All you have to do is use the "Edit Post" link on the original entry to update the wording from the admin view in Canny:
(You can also add screenshots while your there using the image link in the lower left)
Deleting a Post
If you need to permanently remove a Post for whatever reason, you can use the "Delete Post" option:
Before you delete:
- This will delete the Post itself along with all Comments on a Post.
- This action cannot be undone, so be sure you want to permanently delete the Post.
- Deleting a Post will not notify the Post author.
- Consider marking the Post as "Closed" with a comment instead. This way, in case someone else makes the same request later on, they will be able to see it has already been submitted. Learn more
Merging a Post
If a Post matches closely enough to an existing Post, you can merge the 2 into a single entry. Just use the merge button in the top corner to combine the two:
Unmerging a Post
After a Post has been merged, you can unmerge by simply using the "Unmerge" option in the Post Activity:
Moving a Post
To move a Post to a different Board, simply use the "Actions" menu in the Post options:
Reporting a Post as spam
Canny gives you the option to mark a Post as spam:
Be careful! Marking a Post as spam means:
- The Post will be deleted.
- It will prevent that Post's author from ever posting again.
As always, we are happy to answer any questions. Just start a chat! 😃